SKYWARN

Go Back   SKYWARN ONLINE - Storm Spotter Forum > General > General Discussion
Home Register Site Rules Forums Links Today's Posts

Online Users: 26
0 members and 26 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 484, 05-29-2012 at 04:25 AM.
Register for free today!
Thanks for visiting our forums. Click here to register to join in on the conversations!
Closed Thread

Old 03-20-2006, 03:38 PM
Dust Devil

Send a message via AIM to Tyler
Default Warning Lights pt. 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by williamgast1
I am some-what new to SkyWarn. I have known about it for about a year now and have finally gotten the time away from work to take a class to become a member. I am currently a driver for a local volunteer fire department member and I was wondering...In the state of VA, when SkyWarn is activated, I know I am allowed to use warning lights to notify other drivers of my actions whether I am parked on the side of the road, or taking turns, but what colors am I allowed to use on my lightbar or responder light? I currently have red for the fire department, but I have read online of spotters using green as a responder light color for SkyWarn. Is there an official color, or can I just use red without getting in trouble? Thanks for all the help.
Hello. I also live in VA, and my dad is a police officer. From what he has told me, you can use any color but red and blue(and maybe not white either). When I get some lights for my truck, I am going to use orange, because I KNOW orange is legal. But, you may want to check with somebody else just to make sure. Hope this helps!

Tyler

Sponsored Links:
Old 03-20-2006, 08:21 PM
Dust Devil

Send a message via AIM to williamgast1 Send a message via MSN to williamgast1

Thanks. Which part of VA are you from?
Old 03-21-2006, 06:02 PM
Community Leader